Scholarship Name: Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme

Brief description

The CSC is offering the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme for Up to 227 Masters Students from Commonwealth Countries to study in UK Universities 2013/2014

Accepted Subject Areas?

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for taught Master’s courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate’s home country. See full list of courses from the 2013 CSS prospectus.

About Scholarship

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships, set up by the Department for International Development (DFID) in 1986, represent a unique partnership between the United Kingdom government and UK universities. To date, more than 3,500 students from developing Commonwealth countries have been awarded Shared Scholarships. Without these awards they would not otherwise have been able to benefit from UK higher education.

For 2013 62 universities have offered to support the scholarships by contributing the stipend for the students from their own resources, or those which the university has been able to generate from elsewhere. See list of participating universities from the CSS prospective 2013 below.

Scholarship Offered Since: 1986

Who is qualified to apply?

Applicants must:

  • be nationals of (or permanently domiciled in) a developing Commonwealth country, and not currently be living or studying in a developed country (please see the list of eligible countries below)
  • hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level
  • be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
  • have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
  • be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
  • be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete

How Many Scholarships are available? Up to 227 scholarship positions

What are the benefits?

The CSC funds the cost of tuition fees (at overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances. Participating universities are required to support the student stipend for the award holder (at the rate set by the UK government).

How long will sponsorship last?

Awards are normally tenable for one-year taught postgraduate courses only.

Eligible Commonwealth Countries

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guineas, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania,Tonga,Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda,Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Zambia, Zimbabwe*

To be taken at (country): Various UK Universities. Download CSS prospectus 2013 below for full list of participating universities and respective deadlines

Application Deadline

Deadline for application to participating universities varies between December 2012 and April 2013

Candidates must complete their application via the EAS by 16 April 2013 at the latest, in order to be nominated to the CSC by their host university.

Offered annually? Yes

How can I Apply?

All enquiries should be addressed to the university at which you wish to study and through which you should therefore apply for a Shared Scholarship, not to the CSC. The university will advise you on eligibility issues and how to make an application. There are two options:

Option 1
Most universities will handle advertising and recruitment directly using their own application form, and you should therefore apply to the university direct. Following their closing date for applications, the university will ask those candidates which it selects to complete the CSC’s application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS).

Option 2
Some universities request all of their Shared Scholarship candidates to apply via the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS) – see link above. You will be advised by the institution if this is the case, and should then access the EAS once it is open for Shared Scholarship applications by the end of October 2012. Applications must be submitted in time to meet the university’s own deadline, which will be made clear in the EAS and is listed in the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus. (Where a university has not specified a closing date, you should contact the institution to ascertain the latest date that applications will be accepted).


Awards made under this scheme are jointly funded by the Department for

International Development (DFID), as part of the UK international development programme to developing countries, and participating institutions in the UK. The scheme is administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC),

How can I get more information?

All enquiries about making an application and eligibility should be addressed to the university to which you wish to apply (contact details are given in the Shared Scholarships prospectus).

General enquiries regarding the scheme should be sent to the scheme administrators at the address below. Please note that applications sent to this address will be disregarded and will not be passed on to the relevant university.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission
c/o The Association of Commonwealth Universities
Woburn House
20-24 Tavistock Square
London WC1H 9HF

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus 2013 – includes full details of the UK institutions offering Shared Scholarships in 2013 and their respective application deadlines

Download a copy of the CSS prospectus 2013

Important Notes:

All institutions are asked to forward their nominations to the CSC no later than 30 April 2013 using the EAS.


Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme 2013 in UK Universities