Scholarship Name: Australian Development Scholarships for Africa

Brief description

The 2013/2014 Masters Australian Development Scholarships applications are now open for up to 1,000 African Students.

Priority Fields

  • Agriculture/Food Security
  • Education
  • Health (including HIV/AIDS)
  • Public Policy (including public sector management, public sector reform, trade, international diplomacy)
  • Technical and Vocational Education & Training (available for Short Courses only)

Long-Term Awards are postgraduate scholarships that lead to an academic qualification from an Australian university. For studies commencing in 2014, Long-Term Awards are available to eligible applicants from 28 African countries.

Short Course Awards are available for studies in a range of priority sectors including Agriculture, Maternal and Child Health, Mining Governance and Public Policy. Studies are conducted at locations in Africa and in Australia for periods up to 3 months. Short course awards are available to eligible applicants from 51 African countries.

About Scholarship

Australia Awards in Africa (AAA), an initiative of the Australian Government, is a pan-African program of development scholarships and fellowships that offers 1,000 postgraduate scholarships each year to eligible African professionals.

Australia is committed to developing the capacity and leadership skills of Africans to enable them to contribute effectively to development in their home countries. Over the past three years, the number of scholarships available for African professionals has increased ten-fold to a total of 1,000 development awards annually. One-quarter of all Australia’s development scholarships are now directed to Africa.

Scholarship Offered Since: 1980

Scholarship Type: Masters and PhD Scholarships for Africans

Who is qualified to apply?

  • You must not be more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
  • You must have at least three (3) years’ relevant post graduate work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
  • You possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognised Institution of at least 4 years in length with at least a 3rd Class Pass.
  • Public sector candidates must comply with Government of your country regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships
  • Public sector, private sector and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completion of the National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) (for Nigerian candidates- visit for country specific requirements) when they apply.
  • You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award

2013/2014 Australian Scholarships Development  for 1,000 African Students

Target Group

  • You are a national of an African country. See country list below
  • You are an early or mid-career professional working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • You wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. You cannot study a Masters of Business Administration.
  • You have a clear vision for how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
  • Gender Equality: Australia Awards target equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged, and mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees.
  • Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship. Applications from people with a disability are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.

How Many Funding Positions are available? Up to 1,000

What are the benefits? This is a Full government sponsored scholarship

How long will sponsorship last? For the duration of the programme

Eligible African Countries

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo(Republic of), Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia

In addition to the above, the following countries are eligible for Short Course Awards (SCAs) for the 2012 Intake

Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Mauritania, Niger, North Sudan, Republic of Guinea, South Sudan

To be taken at: African or Australian Universities

Application Ends By

Short Course Awards for 2013: Closing date 30 November 2012  

Long-Term Awards (Masters-level Awards) for 2014: Closing date 14 December 2012

Long-Term Awards (PhD Agriculture) for 2014: Closing date 31 March 2013

Offered annually? Yes

How can I Apply?

To submit an electronic application

  1. Click on the link below “Click here to apply”
    1. Register your personal details and click on “Request Application”
    2. You will receive an email asking you to confirm your details
    3. Once you have confirmed your details, the system will automatically send you an electronic application form via email
  2. The Application Form is an Acrobat document that you may save on your local computer or another device and complete offline.
  3. When you have completed your application form, email the form and all supporting documentation to  You may send as many emails as needed, provided you send the emails from the same email address.
  4. If you experience any difficulties with the online application process please email

Hard Copy applications

  • If you cannot use the on line application process please complete the attached hard copy application form. Download the hardcopy application form here
  • Hard Copy applications should be couriered to the relevant AAA Office Courier Address as indicated in the application form, however applicants are encouraged to submit an electronic application.

How can I get more information?

BE SURE to visit here for country specific information


Australia Awards in Africa (AAA), an initiative of the Australian Government

Important Notes:

Application from women and people with disability is stronglyencouraged

2013/2014 Australian Scholarships Development  for 1,000 African Students